VPN connection not working after update

Hello everyone

This is my first time posting. Sorry in advance if I am not formatting this correctly.

I have two VPN connections set up in my network settings and I have never experienced any problem with them until this week when I applied the last stable updates. One still works perfectly but the other one, set up with a VPN Protocol of Palo Alto Network GlobalProtect, stopped working and fails to create a connection. I tested on Windows and it still works there.

Here is what I get

nmcli connection up VPN\ EAWAG                                          
A password is required to connect to 'VPN EAWAG'.
Warning: password for 'vpn.secrets.gateway' not given in 'passwd-file' and nmcli cannot ask without '--ask' option.
Error: Connection activation failed: The VPN service returned invalid configuration
Hint: use 'journalctl -xe NM_CONNECTION=1ba7243a-1b3b-4e8a-a946-851d192b1bd7 + NM_DEVICE=wlp3s0' to get more details.

The error log indicates the following (when printing journalctl -xe NM_CONNECTION=1ba7243a-1b3b-4e8a-a946-851d192b1bd7 + NM_DEVICE=wlp3s0)

Mär 07 10:37:52 andresVel-20l6s8e300 NetworkManager[805]: <warn>  [1646645872.8971] vpn-connection[0x56374b16a2d0,1ba7243a-1b3b-4e8a-a946-851d192b1bd7,"VPN EAWAG",4:(vpn0)]: invalid IP4 config received!
Mär 07 10:37:52 andresVel-20l6s8e300 NetworkManager[805]: <warn>  [1646645872.8971] vpn-connection[0x56374b16a2d0,1ba7243a-1b3b-4e8a-a946-851d192b1bd7,"VPN EAWAG",4:(vpn0)]: VPN connection: did not receive valid IP

I have tried to add the IP address manually in the connection settings but it did not solve it
Does anyone have an idea how to proceed or where to start? I am really needing this connection for home office

Thanks in advance

Hi @anfevepa, and welcome!

It’s really great and thank you for the info, especially since it is your first post here. Also, because of that, please see:

Tip: