Deleted kernel after updating, no longer booting

I tried updating my system and kernel last night, and after resorting to pacman to get around a strange nvidia “breaks dependency” warning to download the latest kernel, I deleted the old one and restarted after checking to see if it was installed properly.

After restarting my system, I was stuck at the boot screen saying “Recovering journel…” and with the blocks readout. It would not progress past that point.

I’ve attempted to install the kernel again using a live environment to no avail. I’m a little new at Linux boot and kernel stuff, so I would not be surprised if I just ruined my system. Is there anything I can do?

EDIT: I forgot to mention that I lost the ability to boot into GRUB, instead my system boots straight to Manjaro.

so boot into the live usb, connect to internet, chroot:
sudo manjaro-chroot -a
post first output from:
mhwd -l && mhwd -li && mhwd-kernel -li

1 Like

While not a solution to the current problem. One best practice is to have two versions of the kernel installed. That way if there is a problem with one kernel (you delete it) you have another to boot into for troubleshooting. Another is to have timeshift and timeshift-autosnap installed. It creates a restore point so if an update fubars your OS its easy to recover.

2 Likes

Here’s those command outputs from earlier:

[manjaro /]# mhwd -l && mhwd -li && mhwd-kernel -li
> 0000:0a:00.0 (0300:10de:2488) Display controller nVidia Corporation:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                  NAME               VERSION          FREEDRIVER           TYPE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
          video-nvidia            2021.12.18               false            PCI
    video-nvidia-470xx            2021.12.18               false            PCI
           video-linux            2018.05.04                true            PCI