Select your username and enter password

I am a complete beginner to Manjaro (and, for that matter, Linux), and in my utter foolishness I think I messed up. Now, I can no longer log in; all that appears is the below image (see comment)

Summary

How do I fix this problem?

what happened, the picture is not avaiable but maybe you can explain it ?

Can you see the image now?

What happens if you click the image?

yes it is visible now.
what happens if you use the arrow left (in the middle of the display)

Nothing. I can only type in my password, but to no effect

I can drag the image, but not click on it.

What do you mean, “to no effect”? Are you simply referring to the fact that you cannot see the password you’re typing — which is exactly how it’s supposed to be — or does entering your password and then hitting Enter have no effect at all?

Typing in my password and then pressing the ‘Enter’ button does not work. I cannot log in to my computer.

Either explain what this actually is aka what you actually did or solve it by: reverting your utter foolishness.

okay that’s a step forward. so you can access the input and type in your password, but it is not accepted. so far we are all sticking in the dark.
first things first, do you have a laptop and the numeric mode is active by accident ? in this case you would send numbers instead of chars.

let’s try it from console, at this login prompt please use STRG-ALT-F4 to change to a console, if this works type in your login-name and then your password. does that work ? if you are logged in you can simply reboot with

sudo reboot
1 Like

I was able to go into the console and reboot my machine, but it didn’t work; I still cannot log in. As I explained in another comment, I think I seriously messed up. I think the only way to save my system is to reinstall Manjaro, which I don’t know how to do

what do you think about such a sentence if you would read it on my side ?