Issue with permanent keyboard configuration for accented letters (Portuguese ABNT2)

Hello all!

I’m not an advanced user, although I’ve been running Linux (Ubuntu/Unity & Gnome) for some ten years. I’m wholly new to Manjaro and KDE.

Apparently there is a known issue involving correctly configuring KDE to accept accented characters, i.e., a configuration which delivers “é” or “ã” or “ô” when you press ’ and then “e”, ~ and them “a”, ^ and then “o”, and so forth.

I’ve seen the issue reported and discussed in a few posts – confined to the relatively small Portuguese or Spanish-speaking communities – here and there, but I have failed to find a permanent solution.

The workarounds I have found involve either adding “setxkbmap -model abnt2 -layout br -variant abnt2” to /etc/bashrc or employing a combination of keystrokes involving the “modifier” key + “e” or “a” and so forth.

The first workaround is inelegant (=P) in addition to being not entirely convenient: in my machine, at least, for reasons unknown, the accentuation keystroke combinations will sometimes randomly lose effectiveness, i.e., at the beginning of the session ’ + e = é, but after a while, ’ + e begins to mysteriously produce only 'e.

The second workaround is unpractical. I use the computer basically to write in Portuguese and Spanish, and having to readjust my typing skills is not really an option at this point!

I am expecting that posting the issue here to a broader audience may help me find alternative solutions.

(By the way, the solution presented in Plasma resetting keyboard layout after boot didn’t work for me, as the abnt2 layout does not appear in the “Keyboard Settings” submenu).

Thanks in advance!

All the best,

Pedro

1 Like

Welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

Well, I can’t really help you with locale-specific keyboard layouts, but you should be able to pick an alternative layout in the Manjaro Settings Manager for your locale that works better.