[HowTo] Enhance your Linux audio with EasyEffects or PulseEffects Legacy

Difficulty: ★☆☆☆☆

Why? Who is this for?

If you find your audio on Linux doesn’t have enough of a kick to it, this is probably for you. This guide is made for complete beginners to tuning their audio. (You don’t even need to know how to configure an equalizer.)

Although you could just use a simple equalizer like qpaeq or pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

For those of us who want something with a little more options, we have EasyEffects, formerly known as PulseEffects. Which unlike the name suggests, is not that easy, but that’s what this tutorial is here for :slight_smile:

In it’s current state, besides a uniquely highly customizable equalizer, EasyEffects also offers a range of plugins that can enhance audio.

This ranges from sound enhancing effects like Bass Enhancer, Crystalizer, Loudness amplifier, Crossfeed and a whole bunch more, to microphone enhancements like noise reduction and echo cancellation.

In my examples below I will be using EasyEffects which is what I actually have installed, and although the PulseEffect interface may look a little different, it’s all very similar (same buttons, different locations or icons kind of thing).

Install EasyEffects or PulseEffects Legacy

If you’re using PipeWire you’ll want to install EasyEffects

pamac install easyeffects

If you’re using PulseAudio, you will want to install PulseEffects Legacy (or alternatively replace PulseAudio with Pipewire and install EasyEffects instead)

pamac install pulseeffects-legacy

Optional Dependencies/Plugins

For certain features to work, other packages need to be installed to add support for certain plugins (without them some presets may not work)

pamac install calf zam-plugins-lv2 lsp-plugins mda.lv2

There’s also yelp for GTK help prompts

pamac install yelp

What’s the difference?

The short of it is: PulseEffects Legacy is for PulseAudio, EasyEffects is for Pipewire.