How to learn linux?

Hey everyone, I don’t even know if this section is right for this type of question but it seems most suitable,

I’m new to Linux community Manjaro is my first ever Linux distro and I like it very much,
Since I’m noob and don’t know much about Linux itself or commands that I can run in Konsole, I wanted to ask you guys where to start my journey, which books or online resources or even videos do you recommend for studying… sorry if my question is out of place once again, but out of every section I decided that this was the right place to ask it… thanks guys :blush:

1 Like

Hello,

Same sort of topic was created some time ago and some answers got posted here, if you want to read trough

Specific questions, like i want to do that so how i do it in linux?, are most likely to receive specific answers instead some generic pointers …

5 Likes

Hi @ikkako,

1. Experience. Set out to do something, and do it. Search the internet for answers if you become stuck. Break stuff. More importantly, fix stuff.
  2. Don’t give yourself an easy-out, like a second boot to Windows. If something is Windows-only, try Windows on a VM. Or try using it with Wine.

Hope this helps!

5 Likes

There are some Linux books available in the internet.
A good book is the Freebsd handbook: apart from the kernel and the filesystem, all other is valid.

3 Likes

Where to start learning what many people have been learning already for over 20 years?

Well you’re already there - install, use, and work out how to make it do what you need.

Oh, and get used to not being able to do everything you thought you might whilst learning some new ways to do them.

Many threads, and so many questions and answers all over the place - more than you could ever read.

More interesting questions:

1. I like Podcasts, what are the best ways to get podcasts?