How is Deepin Now?

I am new to Manjaro… I want to install Deepin but I don’t want to break my system.
But one of the reasons I came to manjaro was to get Deepin.

How is it running… It seems like the group said some things were breaking.?
I have kde manjaro iso… just installed whatever version today.

The absolute (as for stability) place to use Deepin Desktop is on the Deepin distro…but you probably know that.

2 Likes

Will it crash the main manjaro kde or will I be fine?

You really don’t want to be mixing desktops as you will more than likely have issues. The manjaro deepin edition I ran for a while, its stable but has a few things that don’t work properly. Try it in a vm or live usb

3 Likes

There was a time (about a year ago) when Deepin had so many bugs that a daily use was no longer possible. At that time I tested different other Desktops but both Gnome as well as KDE had lot’s of problems together with Deepin. (Actually, the other way around: Deepin had lot’s of problems with all the stuff KDE and Gnome installs.)
So I cleaned my installation and put Deepin and XFCE side by seide. This combination works ever since so I suggest this combo.
I’m using Deepin as a daily driver. It works but it has minor issues which can be annoying. As it’s the most beautiful DE on Linux, I live with those issues and I’m still quite happy.
The following thread gives you answers when you hit problems after regular Deepin updates:
Solutions if a Deepin upgrade goes wrong

2 Likes

So, I have KDE Manjaro distro. If I simply did the basic install of Deepin without the login stuff and the apps, would it be okay? I just want the basic DE. Or does one need to do the full thing? I’ve got Rounded Global KDE theme which is near to Deepin but… it is not the same.

Don’t get yourself in trouble - make a VM in VirtualBox, give it some CPU and RAM, and test there :slight_smile: Free of trouble is something goes wrong. And if you don’t like it, uninstalling is a simple as deleting VM.