Help regarding multi drive compatibility

I have been using Manjaro KDE on a VM and I officially want to switch to it now. Although I do not have much knowledge of Linux and stuff. Basically I’m a NOOB.

As I said I’ve been using Manjaro KDE in VM and want to switch to it completely. But before that I have a few questions. I have been reading on the forum for some time but still wanted to confirm one last time, I hope I won’t sound stupid😅

So I have an Acer Aspire A515-51G with HDD and SSD and Hybrid Graphics.
As per the reading I can run Hybrid graphics without any issues using “prime-run appname” from terminal, which is fine.

Now the doubt I have is regarding SSD + HDD. So in a post it was mentioned about Windows drives partition and Linux drive. Windows has partitions like C, D etc…, while Linux does not.

I did not understand much about it. But I just want to know will I have to tweak for my laptop to setup both SSD + HDD to work at the same time as I will be installing Manjaro on my SSD as the sole OS(I will be removing windows completely which is installed in SSD) and I use HDD only as a storage device.

Specs:- I have a decent laptop.
Storage:- 256GB m.2 Nvme SSD + 1TB 5400 rpm HDD.
Graphics:- intel integrated 6xx + Nvidia MX150 2gb

Long story short:- After installing will I face any issues with dual drives i.e…, SSD + HDD and hybrid graphics.

P.S:- Excuse me for my English if I had made any mistakes.

1 Like

Hard to tell and no guaranty that you dont face any issues.

SDD+HDD end Hybrid graphics dont tent to issues normally.

2 Likes

I think the main difference between Windows and Linux regarding partitions is that Windows mounts all of them automatically, while Linux only do so with partitions configured as such, the rest usually still being accessible from file managers and mounted on-demand.

This may or may not be of importance, depending on where you want your /home folder.