Dolphin large file transfer to usb stick indicates completed after caching is done, transfer still ongoing

Hello, I’m new to Manjaro, (Latest stable) and am having an issue with large file transfers (Dolphin) to usb drives incorrectly being marked as completed after the caching phase is complete, not when the file is actually successfully written to the drive. I’ve been using the “safely remove” feature to give me some indication when the transfer is complete, but this seems a poor workaround to an issue that shouldn’t exist. Is there something I can configure to give me a proper file transfer dialog?

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!

That’s quite judgmental for someone obviously new to GNU/Linux. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

You have to understand how these things work. The Linux kernel uses a virtual filesystem, onto which all physical filesystems are mounted.

So when I/O occurs, then what really happens is that this I/O takes place within the virtual filesystem layer — in what is called buffers, the opposite of cache memory — and gets synchronized only with the physical filesystem underneath at a later point, when the system is less busy.

Other factors in this regard are the speed of the bus through which the physical device is connected, as well as the I/O throughput of the physical device itself. USB sticks are not known for high throughput, because they use a different kind of flash storage when compared to an SSD.

Now, there is a way to cut out (most of) the memory buffering during writes, but for that, you would need to manually mount the USB stick, instead of relying on the automount feature, because you can mount a filesystem with the sync option. This option means that all I/O must forego the buffers and be immediately written to the underlying physical medium.