Avahi disabled by default (again)?

I installed a very fresh Manjaro KDE, but when I went to configure my Brother network printer, the Configuration utility detected it but asked for address and queue even though it’s a zeroconf-driverless device. Luckily I had a reference installation, and after some googling and bisecting my problem, it appeared that the avahi package was installed, but disabled by default on my brand new Manjaro.
I just typed (as root) systemctl enable avahi-daemon and immediately, my printer was identified and I installed it without further faffing around.
I’m a bit dumbfounded by the process. It didn’t take me long because I have some experience, but a complete linux beginner is more than likely to be stuck (or may have to configure the printer in a silly, old fashioned and complicated way).
Not the best experience in my humble opinion, I believe it would be better if avahi was enabled by default. I looked up the older messages on this forum, the same thing happened in late 2022, and supposedly, on Manjaro KDE, avahi should have been enabled since April 2023 (https://forum.manjaro.org/t/avahi-disabled-by-default-is-it-intentional/127359 )
Cheers,
M.

There is simply so many use cases and so many opinions on Manjaro Linux, thus is a self-service distribution - this is the way.

You install, configure and maintain the system - Manjaro is a box of Lego with a pretty installer capable of putting together a simple bootable system - what you after - that is up to you.

• Yes - Manjaro Linux provides an installer
  • Yes - a decent set of packages pre-loaded
  • No - not every use case has the service configured or enabled

If you need Samba filesharing or Cups printing you need to configure and set it up yourself.

And what you are referring to seems to be the removal of disabling the avahi-daemon.