Add secondary drive in steam

Just made the switch from Windows to Manjaro Gnome. I’m having trouble getting steam to see my secondary SSD. I can see it in the file explorer but I cannot access it through steam. Help I’m a linux noob

Hello @ForAK and welcome to the Manjaro forum.

You can do it just like in windows. Go in steam to:

Settings -> Downloads -> Steam-libraryfolder(Button)

At the new window click on the “+” right of the library which called “/home”. and choose the path to your ssd that you see in your file explorer. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

It does not show up there

What is the path for your steam library on your ssd shown up in your file explorer?

/run/media/akash/1659c684-8b8a-46cb-9480-006e77b2c403/

NTFS disk, am I right? Also it seems it is not mounted properly, what you show is the automount from file explorer, see post below and do that first, mount your disk properly on boot, so Steam always has access to it.

Drives are a Windows thing. :wink:

1 Like

Ok, at first I whould suggest to create a extra directory for your steam-library on these ssd. You can do it in your file explorer if you want. If the whole ssd is your steam-library and still full of games from your windows installation I also suggest to create an extra dirctory and move the (game-)folders in it.

Your mountpoint is at /run/media/.... Which means points to a temporary mountet media. Which means for your that your system sees these “ssd” probably first after you have mount it.
If its so you need to “mount” your ssd before you start steam. You can do this easily by open it with your file explorer.

After than you can go back to steam to the “add library” point.
In the list there I suggest first to scroll up and click the “-” in front of “home” to make it more visible.