When I try to boot up my laptop I have to try booting many times before it finally boots

Hello. I am not a developer nor very much code savvy, but i do like to probe into new things and such. I have been with Mint, Manjaro, and now trying out Xfce. I purchased the DVD on eBay from someone. It looked like it was loading up properly, but I have to turn on my laptop a couple of times before it finally catches the root and boots. I ma using the Dell Lattitude E5550 with 16gbof ram. It appeared as if everything was going as it should when loading the DVD in the external DVD player. I’ve been this way for awhile now and over time it starts to wear you down. Was I supposed to do something in bios? Thanks

Welcome to Manjaro! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

1. Please read the information behind this link. It will help you to post necessary information.
  1. Please press the three dots below your post and then press the :pencil2:
  • If you give us information about your system, we can see what we’re talking about and make better suggestions.
  • You can do this by using inxi in a terminal or in console.
sudo inxi --verbosity=8 --filter --width 
  • Personally identifiable information such as serial numbers and MAC addresses are filtered out by this command
  • Presenting the information in this way allows everyone to be familiar with the format and quickly find the items they need without missing anything.
  1. Copy the output from inxi (including the command) and paste it into your post.
  • To make it more readable, add 3 backticks ``` on an extra line before and after the pasted text.

Have you already :mag: for your problem in the forum ? (Wisdom lies in asking → listening → reading :wink: )

On the first glance i would say dying hard drive or corrupted bootloader, but it would be really helpful to provide the logs from the failed boots.
And it will be nice to describe exactly what you do. Are you selecting the option to boot from hdd in the dvd menu or what?