What is happening with Ceph-libs?

Hi all. First let me say I’m a Linux newb, I only switched from windows 6 months ago. My problem is that ceph-libs won’t install on any of my manjaro machines. I have 3. One is an internet machine, the other is an HTPC, and there’s one in my garage for youtube videos while working on cars.

So that’s 3 separate machines that will not update ceph-libs for some reason. But they update everything else. On my garage machine, pamac just crashes. But on my main/internet machine that I use every day, it crashes the whole operating system. Meaning that if I try to update ceph-libs, after waiting for 2 hours for it to “build”, I get a black screen. I have to reboot the computer by holding the power button.

Something clearly doesn’t like ceph-libs. And why does it take 2 hours to build? Any help here would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

From what I have read here on this topic
you don’t even need it anymore.

Unless you are sure that you actually do need it - remove it.

Search the forum to probably quickly find what I was referring to.

3 Likes

Please search the forum before posting and read the announcements. It would be 10x faster for you and instead of 35 we would only have 34 topics about ceph-libs. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Thank you!

So to uninstall it, the command would be “sudo pacman -Rc ceph-libs”, correct?

I’ve used that in the past for things that just wouldn’t leave. For example, SMplayer wouldn’t uninstall with the usual command because it’s freakin’ skin was dependent on it to be able to function. Ugh.

When you issue that command, you’ll see a list of packages that this command will remove from your system
should you answer “yes” to the question at the end of that list.

You can review it and then decide.
It’s not like:
you give the command and then have to hope that it actually does what you expected

You will be told the end result and asked whether that is what you want to do.

man pacman