What I would add/change to Manjaro

First let me tell you that I absolutely love Manjaro. I used Windows up until 2012, then I used Ubuntu (also tried other Linux distros), and 2 weeks ago I switched to Manjaro and so far it is the best operating system I’ve used.

Here are some stuff I would do, if I had the knowledge and skills, to make Manjaro even better (in my view):

1. Improve the Package Manager (Software Center) a bit. I like its simplicity but I think the following would be great:

a. make a nice page with categories and let people vote (rate) apps so we can see most popular or best rated or even “editor’s pick”. Let people discover new software and maybe even have a category with “latest releases”. I don’t suggest you transform this into the clutter that Android play store is. Not at all. Keep it simple but give people more options to discover new software.

b. separate somehow the “packages” from “apps”. As a newbie I want to mainly install apps and I want to see my installed apps in one single place without being added together with packages/dependencies. If I go to “Installed” that’s what I want to see, else it becomes a mess of packages and apps and I can’t make sense of it. Let me sort out the apps from packages/dependencies.

c. sort installed apps by date - I want to see what I installed recently so maybe I can uninstall those.