Sudo login closes terminal

Hi Friends,

I need some help. This has gotta be something obvious I am missing. I am new to Arch/Manjaro but not to Linux or 'nix in general. [Queue up resume here, or … not.] Suffice to say I have a long history with the BSD world and a shorter one with Linux, but some mileage.

I have Manjaro Gnome installed in a VM that I am using to self-teach and also directly on an HP laptop I use for customer support. My daily driver [for now] is Mint/Cinammon but I am headed this way for a lot of reasons.

Weird problem. Here’s what I need: If I open a terminal and then >sudo login different_user Manjaro just closes the session, no excuses and no polite goodbye. :wink: But to be clear, I can sudo plenty of other stuff, indeed all of the regular functions as one would need. So sudo itself is not my problem.

I have been used to doing this for years in maintaining several servers and client workstations. Simply move from one user to another in this way without first logging out. But Manjaro is not letting me do that. Can someone explain why, or what I am missing?

Thanks in advance! [I did search for help on this. Didn’t find anything. But then, perhaps I just don’t do keywords right. ;)]

Hm …
I saw some odd sudo issues recently in relation to fingerprint readers … you dont use one or have something like that configured do you ?

( PS - here is one such quick link: [Unstable Update] 2020-12-02 - BREAKAGE EXPECTED - Python 3.9, Nvidia driver simplification, KDE-git )

Hi! Thanks for the reply. No, no fingerprint readers, no touchscreen. Just the normal laptop touchpad.

Does this happen when using qterminal?

And using a sub-shell? aka typing:

bash
sudo login [user]

Hi AltertoSalviaNovella,

Thank you very much for your help. Interesting suggestions, the learning continues.