[SOLVED] Computer doesn't shut down

I just recently installed Manjaro on my PC and I’m very new to this.
When I shut it down by selecting “Shut Down” from the “log out” menu, the computer just doesn’t shut down, but I noticed these things happening:

• The motherboard’s logo (the same one that shows up when I turn the computer on) stayed on the screen for a long time.
  • I turned the monitor off and didn’t see everything that happened, but when I came back after ~20 minutes and turned the monitor on, there was a terminal screen with a bunch of messages on it.

I know that I need to share certain log files to help find out what the problem is. What commands do I need to run to share these files?

Could you give more info? Like your motherboard manufacturer (the one with the logo) Did it happen before? Did you try manually shutting down the pc? Can you run any commands on the terminal that showed up?

My answers will depend on these answers. °_°

Hi @steveRoll, and welcome!

If you can run commands, in other words, if it’s not frozen, also pate/provide us with the output of the uptime command.

$ uptime
14:42:54 up  5:46,  3 users,  load average: 0.17, 0.20, 0.25

This should, at least in theory, tell us whether the shutdown ever occurred or not. I know it doesn’t look like it did, but we all know that looks can be deceiving.

My motherboard is a Gigabyte B365M DS3H.
Last time I shut it down, the shutdown just took a very long time. But this time, there simply was no shutdown at all.
The only way to shut the pc down after that was to press the small reset button on the pc itself, it did not respond to anything else.
Pressing any keys didn’t do anything either, so I couldn’t type any commands in there.

I would post an image of what the terminal looks like… but unfortunately, the forum doesn’t allow me to upload images or links. So I don’t know how to share it :confused:

Who said you cant upload images? There is a trick to do it