Restricitive permission structure

Hi guys,

it’s been a long time that I visited this board, although Manjaro is my daily driver. Well, somehow other things in life make it harder to spend much time here…

I’d really like to enter this community again, as much as time permits. But to be honest, there is one thing that leaves a bit of a stale aftertaste, whenever I visit this board. It’s the rather restrictive permission structure which makes it hard to participate, particularly for newbies or for people who haven’t been active for a while.

For example, today I wanted to report a security relevant issue and thus post into https://forum.manjaro.org/t/update-requests-for-packages-imported-from-arch-linux/ The issue in question is a backdoor in the xz package by the way: Backdoor found in xz 5.6.1 (#2) · Issues · Arch Linux / Packaging / Packages / xz · GitLab

It turned out that I am not allowed to post in the Manjaro Development category. I know, I’m not a Manjaro developer. But that’s a public board. If the dev team wants to discuss things in private, I’m sure there are plenty of possibilities. Why locking out the users from this category in a public board?

Also, some topics get automatically closed after some period of time. But not all of them. And the period of time isn’t the same for all topics as well. Looks like recent topics are closed 36 hours after the last reply while in the past this period has been two days. So this means: If I have some issue and open a topic, but then, due to whatever reason, am not able to reply within 36 hours, the topic will be closed and I will have to open a new one to get support with my issue. Of course, in a perfect world everyone can reply immediately. But in reality people can get busy with work, family or whatever else, or just plainly forget to answer in time. And then that’s it, the topic is closed. To be honest, I know no second board with such a restrictive regulation!