Picking OS for host machine

Hi folks.

I’m pretty new to virtualization so there is a lot to learn.
Can somebody point me in to the right direction please?

My plan to have few different VMs running manjaro, something like:
1st - for wrok and work related communication
2nd - for non-work related communication
3rd - for surfing web

Is debian buster + virtualbox is the best way to go? Or should I look in to OS specifically designed for hosting VMs (free) or any other distros?

Do you already use manjaro as a host, my first thought is that you might be putting too much thought into the host OS. Are you trying to use a lightweight host so the guest has more power, why not just dual boot then?

My manjaro is a little broken. I’ve been told that quickest way to fix it is to nuke it and just do a fresh install.
I was thinking about virtualization for a while, I like the security aspect + having dedicated VM for work will help with procrastination.

I only have 16GB of RAM, so yes I was hoping for something lightweight.

What kind of work do you use the VM for, I’m having my own problems right now but up until yesterday I was rocking 16GB of ram, i3-10100, and a GTX1050TI. I was gaming on the VM with near native performance while simultaneously using the Manjaro host for discord, music, and looking up guides.

Thanks James.
I do web dev, so it should be very light for the system. But I’m very greedy in terms of system resources. I don’t want to waste them unnecessarily, since the host OS will be doing one single thing. And in general, I would like to know what is the “best” OS for hosting VMs.

Just use a 128GB USB 3.x.x Flash drive if you wan to use another OS. The YouTuber “Switch to Linux” does this as does other.

And yes you can install Linux to a USB key instead of use it as LiveMedia.