Persistent error with bootable USB stick and the Plasma Desktop release

Hello!

I’m very new to Linux, and found Monjaro to be a solid starting point because I want to eventually get accustomed to arch. I’m having an error that has persisted over 3 separate USB sticks and 3 separate downloads (each verified sha1).

When I boot to the Start screen and select start with proprietary drivers, I get the following error:

# typed by hand since I cant upload an image:
starting version 251.2-3-manjaro
mount: /run/miso/sfs/livefs: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0

dmesg(1) may have more information after failed mount system call
ERROR: failed to mount '/dev/loop0'

I’ve searched the error above multiple times, but a lot of the answers go right over my head. Any help is greatly appreciated!

format the usb drive, then flash ventoy and copy the iso there and try again

1 Like

Just tried this with no luck, same error. Is it an issue with the iso itself? Should I grab another version, and if so, where?

you can download the latest from here
use ventoy, and boot the iso in bios mode if you are using bios, or uefi mode if you are using uefi
check if secure boot is disabled
and you said that it happens with proprietary drivers, so try open source instead

Awesome, thank you! Maybe a dumb question, but how do I specify BIOS vs UEFI? Is this something I need to set through Ventoy?

and do you have bios mode or uefi mode? when you selecting the usb to boot there are 2 options, one has uefi there and one has not, that means its in bios mode

I’m 90% sure that I’m on UEFI, but I’ll see if I can double check. Once I’m back on my PC I’ll try it again with the steps you provided, thanks!

Hey, welcome to the linux world. Wish you good luck.

What is Monjaro?

Oh? How did you find out that, since you are “very new”?

Wait, you haven’t even tried it yet? I can tell you right now that a good solid starting point is anything else but arch based distros.