New installation - no button for auto install proprietary driver

Hello,
I wanted to connect my apple cinema display. It stays black with a little flicker.

So I wanted to install a proprietary driver. There should be a button for this in the Settings manager - hardware detection. It is not shown to me.

What could I do?

I have installed Manjaro XFCE 21.0.3 my old Macbook pro 2009.

If I see it right my computer has tho graphic cards:

1. NVIDIA G96 CM
  2. NVIDIA C79

I am an absolute newbie to Linux and need some support. Please could you help me.
Thanks!

Hi @Angelika, and welcome!

It might bee that your graphics card is not supported with thee latest proprietary drivers. I havenā€™t checked myself, but it might fall under one of thee GPUs not supported by the latest drivers. Please see this announcement post by @philm

There youā€™ll find more information.

Hope this helps!

BTW: i love your username

You can try the very old unsupported Nvidia 340 drivers. Basically follow this guide after you have made sure you have the supported kernel installed and running (this will only work with kernel 5.4 and/or 5.10, other kernel are not supported with that method). For the kernel, go to Manjaro Settings, and install kernel 5.4 this should be good for your old computer. If it is already installed itā€™s already OK go to next step, click the link and read the whole post by philm.

Then open a terminal, and do as instructed, then reboot and you should run the old Nvidia drivers.

If it goes wrong and you canā€™t properly boot to desktop anymore, you can restore the system but youā€™ll need to be able to access the forum for help from another machine.

1 Like

THank you!

I have checked the NVIDIA. It is: GeForce 9600M GT and GeForce 9400M

This is what I found in the link you gave me:

NV50 family (Tesla)

Has unified shader architecture, can do GPGPU and CUDA, has virtual memory, quite different from previous cards.

Code name Official Name