Manjaro GNOME won't boot on Raspberry Pi 4 model B 8GB

Hello everyone. I’m trying to boot the official Manjaro GNOME for ARM 21.06 image on a Raspberry Pi 4 Model B 8GB, made by Raspberry Pi Imager, but after the first Manjaro logo screen, all hardware / monitor activity suddenly ceases with only a command prompt cursor blinking. I tried 3 different SD cards and 3 different USB-C AC power adaptors to eliminate some common issues with Raspberry Pi’s before coming here, as well as waited 30 minutes for the initial boot to start, just in case.

I don’t know whether I’m supposed to post a journal output, but there’s literally nothing I can do or type after the boot hangs. I’m really new to Linux / Raspberry Pi, so any suggestions would be graciously appreciated. Thank you!

Did you run the initial setup procedure on first boot already? There should be a CLI based wizard asking for user, language and country settings…

I can’t even make it to the initial setup screen. Right after the very first Manjaro logo screen with the loading circle under it, the screen goes black and hangs on a blinking cursor…

Sounds a bit like this to me… https://www.reddit.com/r/archlinux/comments/ml0ruy/solution_to_gnomegdm_black_screen_after_a_major/.

Can you try to change the TTY and log in to the console?

I tried the alt+ctrl+F2 keystroke mentioned in the Reddit post, and during my second boot, I got this screen:

There’s also that blinking cursor on the bottom.

Seems there have been some issues with earlier builds of the 21.06 for RPi4… MANJARO Arm , No First Boot - #4 by Darksky. could you please check if you use the latest version of the image (uploaded some days ago)

I downloaded it just yesterday!

Have you ever boot another OS with this device ? (rpiOS for instance) To be sure that it boots correctly and its firmware is up to date ?