Manjaro failed to boot in UEFI mode

Hi,

I’m very new to Linux. I got problem when I clean install Manjaro install in UEFI mode. After installation, Manjaro cannot boot. I have check and Manjaro did install in my hard disk just cannot boot. I try install Windows 10 in UEFI mode got no problem. I also try install Manjaro in Legacy mode got no problem. Any tutorial how to fix this issue?

If you already have Microsoft Windows installed on that drive, then there will be an EFI System Partition (ESP) of approximately 512 MiB, formatted as FAT32 ─ or vfat, as it is called in UNIX speak.

During the partitioning phase, did you mark this ESP with the boot and esp flags? This is important with regard to the installation of the boot loader. Also, your partition table must be of the GPT type, not the MS-DOS/MBR type.

In addition to that, you must also make sure that Secure Boot and Windows Fast Boot are disabled in the UEFI firmware setup, and that the UEFI is set to boot in UEFI mode only, with CSM (legacy BIOS mode) disabled.

boot on USB iso manjaro
open a terminal and a browser on this topic
and returns

inxi -Fxxxza 
sudo parted -l
sudo efibootmgr -v
test -d /sys/firmware/efi && echo efi || echo bios
1 Like

Hi,

I did try both option erase disk and manual partition, both of the option still cannot boot. My hard disk did not install any OS.

New version of Manjaro installer did not have esp flags. I only create 300MiB for GPT type EFI partition(FAT32) and I only put boot flags.

My PC BIOS did not came with any option secure boot and I also disable quick boot in the BIOS. BIOS is only set UEFI mode.

It needs to be 512 MiB. :slight_smile:

But default one 300MiB for EFI too. I mean erase disk option.

I’m sorry but I don’t understand what you mean. The EFI System Partition needs to be 512 MiB for use with GNU/Linux if you format it as FAT32. With FAT16, it may be smaller.