Lots of formatting changes with /etc/default/grub.pacnew

I’m new to this .pacnew game and therefore pacdiff -o lists a bunch of .pacnew files I haven’t paid attention to since I installed Manjaro last year.

I’m currently checking those files with DIFFPROG=meld pacdiff -s and came across /etc/default/grub.pacnew. It looks like there’s a lot of formatting changes to the file which go back to a commit from 11 months ago. A lot of text passages get moved to different lines or rewritten/improved.

The only notable difference apart for the reformatting/reshuffling of text are two lines.

/etc/default/grub.pacnew:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet udev.log_priority=3"

/etc/default/grub: 
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash apparmor=1 security=apparmor resume=***UUID_number*** udev.log_priority=3"

and

/etc/default/grub.pacnew:
#GRUB_THEME="/path/to/gfxtheme"

/etc/default/grub: 
GRUB_THEME="/usr/share/grub/themes/manjaro/theme.txt"

I’m pretty sure I have to keep the original GRUB_THEME but what about the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT?

I’ve read in an old forum topic that it would be best practice to add custom entries to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX below which would mean:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet udev.log_priority=3"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="splash apparmor=1 security=apparmor resume=***UUID_number***"

Is this correct/still valid today? My CMDLINE doesn’t have a resume_offset like the one in the old forum topic though. I haven’t made any changes to /etc/default/grub since installation. I wonder why Manjaro adds everything into GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT then.

Apart from that I also vaguely remember reading somewhere about having to do another step when messing around with grub files. What do I have to do in case I make all these changes to /etc/default/grub? Or am I confusing this with /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Both those changes should be acceptable, and they are the defaults.

You can check if you have that file for the theme first. ex

ls /usr/share/grub/themes/