[Tip] Useful Bash functions and aliases

Difficulty: ★★★☆☆

DISCLAIMER

The shell code below is to be added to one’s ~/.bashrc file and is only guaranteed to work with GNU bash. I do not use and have no experience with zsh.

Many people ─ especially the resident newbies ─ prefer zsh as an interactive shell because of the fact that it is highly themeable. Yet, at the basis, like most distributions, Manjaro still uses bash for its system initialization scripts, because bash is very powerful and it has stood the test of time as a reliable shell.

Nowadays, zsh is the Manjaro default interactive shell for new installations ─ even if only for its visual appeal ─ but back when I first installed Manjaro now about two and a half years ago (at the time of my writing this), bash was still the default interactive shell for unprivileged user accounts, and as a 20-plus-year GNU/Linux veteran, I saw no need to change that.

Therefore, as the disclaimer says, if you are using zsh, then the following code may not be of interest to you. But if you do still use bash and you find this code interesting, then feel free to implement it, modify it, or whatever. It’s all GPL, homie! :wink:

The default ~/.bashrc that ships with Manjaro already contains some aliases and functions ─ probably literally taken over from Arch, but if I’m wrong about that, then feel free to correct me :wink: ─ but I have added a couple more of my own, based upon the needs of the moment. I will give a brief description with each of them below. :wink:

Perhaps first a word about the difference between aliases and shell functions.

An alias is in fact only a shorthand for simple commands that you use a lot but would take too much time to type in every time. An alias can be a compound command ─ it can be made up of multiple existing commands ─ but it cannot be used for the manipulation of variables.

An alias always comes in the form… :arrow_down:

alias name-of-your-alias-here='command(s)-to-be-executed'