Linux Kernel 6.6 LTS CPU regression on i7 Alderlake

Dear community.

I’ve been using Manjaro for 4 years now and it just works.

Currently I am running the default 6.1 LTS kernel on Manjaro Gnome.
After I updated the kernel to default 6.6 LTS and made the Geekbench 6 CPU test, I discovered a performance regression especially on the single core.

6.1 Kernel:
SC: ~2600
MC: ~10500

6.6 Kernel:
SC: 1330
MC: 10409

What do I do wrong? Or how can I fix it?

System Details Report

Report details

• Date generated: 2024-02-29 15:20:53

Hardware Information:

• Hardware Model: SLIMBOOK Executive
  • Memory: 32,0 GiB
  • Processor: 12th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-12700H × 20
  • Graphics: Intel® Graphics (ADL GT2)
  • Disk Capacity: 3,0 TB

Software Information:

• Firmware Version: N.1.05GRU07
  • OS Name: Manjaro Linux
  • OS Build: rolling
  • OS Type: 64-bit
  • GNOME Version: 45.4
  • Windowing System: Wayland
  • Kernel Version: Linux 6.1.77-2-MANJARO

Since Alderlake introduce this new efficiency (E-)cores, its maybe possible that the scheduler just redirected a E-Core instead a power (P-)core to the task… possible a simple system restart already could fix it?

Im not a big fan from E-Cores btw… in my opinion its a downgrade, atleast for PC Users… i would instant disable this E-Cores in Bios, as long i dont need this E Cores for Image Processing or Video Encoding. But this is just my opinion.

Could be. I thought of that too.
Reboot does NOT solve the issue.

Is it possible to deactivate them in Bios? when there are only P-Cores available the SC Score probably go back to 2600 Points.

@rustybud
Maybe this can also adjusted in Process Governor in Manjaro, but thats just a blind guess.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/CPU_frequency_scaling#Scaling_governors

No. At least not in my BIOS.

Anyone? Please help.

My first guess was some new security mitigation.

Like here:

But that should only affect amd.