Is Manjaro suitable on PC professional office desktop?

Hi Manjaro Team,

the question is in the title subject.

Thanks.

Hi,

Your question is a little bit… vague, to say the least. I’m a writer, I write under Manjaro. So, yeah Manjaro is 100% suitable… for me :wink:

If you want to maybe get more specific answers, you should give us more context: what kind of office work? What you/the user needs to be able to do (letters? Reports? Novels? Spreasheets? Accounting? Advanced financial stuff?). What kind of compatibility with MSOffice is required (and
fort what apps: Word, XL, PPT,…). And so on.

Edit: also, is it a company provided laptop or the user’s own, and stuff like that. Anything that will help people decide if they can give you any insight :wink:

9 Likes

Absolutely - but if you depend on proprietary closed source software - like Microsoft Office or Adobe products like Photoshop, Illustrator and alike - then it is not.

You will need persistence to learn the tools from ground up.

Even if you are in the Windows superuser category - you will be starting over.

You will need to decide if you are willing to put the necessary amount of work into learning the new systems - and depending on how busy you are - there may not be enough time.

The most common pitfall is to keep Windows as a dual-boot system - this is a bad idea - because you will never learn how the Linux apps is working - you will fall back to your well known environment - and thus making the transition longer and more painful.

3 Likes

Moving to Non-technical questions

1 Like

All i need for my daily work

Email- Mailspring, Bluemail, Evolution, Thunderbird
Office- Libre-office, WPS-office, onlyoffice, freeoffice
Accounting- ManagerAccounting, PDFsam, Hibiscus Homebanking
Timetracking- Clockify
Passwordmanager- Enpass
Webbrowser- Firefox, google chrome, vivaldi, opera, brave
google drive - insync
mega drive - megasync
notes- simplenote