Is Manjaro really big risk for beginner?

Hi, I installed Manjaro today, after big problems on Ubuntu on my new laptop…
Thing is, I really love Manjaro, how it looks, how fast and slick it is…
My question is: I used Ubuntu for 6-7 months, and get familiar with some basic stuff and it’s no problem for me to learn new things here, but I’m still relativly new to Linux and Manjaro especially. I read lot of texts where they say that on Manjaro every update is lottery?
Is it really like that?
I started learning webdev and for now, I won’t try some “crazy” stuff in Linux, is it big risk if I just update things like I did in ubuntu(sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade) and keep doing on webdev course, or should I try find fix on some Ubuntu based distro?
I would really love to stay on Manjaro, but after I read those texts, I’m little bit scared to be honest…

P.S.
I know that apt-get don’t work in Manjaro, just trying explain what I did in Ubuntu

1 Like

I’ve been distro hopping on ubuntu based distros for many years.
I don’t remember exactly when I decided to move to Manjaro but it was the best distro change ever.

I used stable branch and there was no problem after upgrade at all. (About 5 years of upgrading)

I switched to testing branch some time ago and still everything works like a charm.

Just install timeshift and if something goes wrong during update you will be able to restore the system in a minute (on ext4) :slight_smile:
I use it on btrfs. It takes about 1-2 seconds to restore system :slight_smile:

Thanks to Manjaro I learned a lot about Arch linux and currently I use it on my laptop (it’s my training ground) but on my main PC there is Manjaro XFCE.

7 Likes

People having issues on Manjaro, from experience, are the ones tempering with the base system, or the ones installing a lot of stuff in their system, and often from external sources.