Internet Connection Cannot be established on a TP-Link WN821N

Hey guys , recently installed Manjaro and am fascinated by the wonders its has to offer but this issue has been a big one for me to handle since I am a absolute beginner in the Linux space so I figured it would be best to take help of those who are better aware of Linux then I am :slight_smile:

I installed Manjaro 21.04 Xfce today on my machine . During the Live install I noticed that the Network Manager would display the available Wi-Fi networks but when connected to , will time out and say couldn’t connect to the network … I figured it might get solved when I install a copy of Manjaro on my PC but the issue persists even in the Installed version . I am using a TP-Link WN821N external USB network adapter which works flawlessly on Windows and even on some other distros of Linux Like Xubuntu and Mint …

My entire work is based on Networking and since I am new to Linux I really couldn’t figure out a fix , so any help suggestions and help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Hello @Someone2305 :slight_smile:

Could you open a terminal and type this:

inxi -Nazy

Then we know, which chipset this is.

Please post the output here.

1 Like

Sure thing mate .
I just have to paste
inxi -Nazy in the terminal , right ?

1 Like

Here’s the output of the script mate …

Network
Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8186/84111 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
Vendor: Intel driver: r8169 v: kernel port: d000 bus-ID: 03:00:0
chip-ID: 10ec:8168 class-ID: 0200
Device-2 :TP-Link TLWN821N v5/v6 [RTL8192EU] type: USB driver: rtl8xxxu
bus-ID: 1-5:7 chip-ID: 2357:0107 class-ID: 0000 serial:

Note :
I gained these results via a live install of Manjaro so if this was not how it was supposed to be please let me know since I had to remove Manjaro from the last time due to the network problem and have to use Windows for the time being …

Looks like a unified driver take place here and did not work properly: