I need help with general forum guidelines

I read this Guidelines for seeking support in the forum?
That is helpful also.

However, even I use a lot of time at a computer, I almost newer take part any social media or discussion forum. I have no experience of forums, so I have a big difficulties to do it right.

I have asked technical support from this forum 4 times now. 3 times I felt uncomfortable. First one was easy, because there was not many participating.

Reasons are:

1. I don’t know how to reply in that manner, that discussion layout stays clean. See e.g. my last discussion from this link Cannot find the meld binary it was a mess.
    I tried reply in 2 different ways, but it was a mess. I just don’t know how to do so that string looks clean. Despite helpful advices during discussion. I did try hard but…

2. After I settle a support request, I don’t know if I should be available all the time and reply fast. Can I just put my question in and check back e.g. after 12 hours? Or is it then already closed by a speedy administrator? Then there is reminder that I should remember to mark my question solved.

3. I feel that answers are often too short or simple. I just suppose to do like advised without even short description why is it so. In addition forum guidelines say that questions should be also short and simple (not exactly so, but it is how I understood it).

Am I too difficult to help with this?

I am logging out now and coming back to check if there is any replies appr. 6 h later.

2 Likes

In my opinion, as long as people can see what is replied to and the language is mature and understandable, it’s fine. Quoting (like I just did) can help in that regard.