I cant update or install anything in the package manager it just says authentication error

from looking at other posts like this one

I was led to believe that polkit not running is the problem. but I can’t figure out how to start it or even check if it’s running. I know it’s installed.
I need help.
I’m still kinda new to Linux.

For starters, what do you see as output for

systemctl status polkit.service

this is the output

● polkit.service - Authorization Manager
     Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/polkit.service; static)
     Active: active (running) since Mon 2023-03-20 22:00:18 MDT; 1h 36min ago
       Docs: man:polkit(8)
   Main PID: 721 (polkitd)
      Tasks: 3 (limit: 77043)
     Memory: 6.5M
        CPU: 411ms
     CGroup: /system.slice/polkit.service
             └─721 /usr/lib/polkit-1/polkitd --no-debug

Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Reloading rules
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Collecting garbage unconditionally...
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Loading rules from directory /etc/polkit-1/rules.d
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Loading rules from directory /usr/share/polkit-1/rules.d
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Finished loading, compiling and executing 7 rules
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Reloading rules
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Collecting garbage unconditionally...
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Loading rules from directory /etc/polkit-1/rules.d
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Loading rules from directory /usr/share/polkit-1/rules.d
Mar 20 22:21:54 ManjaroGameingPC polkitd[721]: Finished loading, compiling and executing 7 rules

so i guess thats not the problem?

I readily admit that I don’t know all that much about polkit and am mainly hoping to gather information that other, more experienced, people can use to help you.