How safe is AUR and pacman in general?

Hello,

I am new to Linux so my questions might be dumb, let me apologize for that in advance.

I want to understand the philosophy of Linux (manjaro and Arch in this case) and its systems. So I have the following questions:

1. Are packages in official repositories - pacman packages - fully open source and carefully checked by devs before getting put on pacman repositories?

2. AUR. As far as I understand, it is a community-based repository and anyone can upload their packages there. It means that anybody can write a package and put it on AUR and that package can have malicious code in it. Am I getting this right?

Also, are packages from AUR fully open source too and anyone can inspect the code?

1 Like

Hi @carpe,

I’m going to answer you as well as I can. I’m no expert, so someone can verify this or not.

AFAIK the question to both the answers is yes. And no. It’s kind of complicated, so let me try and explain:

There is are the Nvidia proprietary drivers. They are, sadly, not opensource. But they are in the repositories. And their installation method is open source.

The same can be done with the AUR. The AUR is moree…flexible…open to outside input than the repositories, in that the AUR is community-driven. It’s actually a collection of scripts, one for each application, that tells pacman where to go get thee file to install, what are the neccessary dependencies and provides the instructions for installation.

These scripts, called .PKGBUILDs, are also open source and can be inspected by anyone. However, that does not mean the packages they download and install are.

I hope this makes some kind of sense. If anyone has a better way of explaining it, please tell us.

3 Likes

Start here: Arch Linux - ArchWiki

Then look at: Arch User Repository - ArchWiki

1 Like