Hide GRUB when booting

Hey, So I am new to Arch-Linux and linux as a whole, and have installed it alongside windows 10 and would like to use Windows as the ‘Primary OS’ until I am more familiar with manjaro, thus what I wanted to do ‘Hide’ GRUB until a Key is pressed which will show the the Grub menu, if the key is not pressed it loads normally into windows, Thus if possible please provide a detailed and easy to understand guide for my request. Thanks in advance.

Hi,

Are you using Arch or Manjaro? Manjaro already hides grub by default.

1 Like

I am using Manjaro and no mine didnt hide the grub menu, and for more Info I installed the bootloader on /(System …) on the same disk as windows but on a different partition windows is on sda1 and manjaro is on sda4

If you have multiple OS in GRUB it will not be hidden, it will not accept 0 second timeout.
If you want Windows as main OS and Manjaro available when you press a key, then put Windows in your BIOS as primary boot option, and then when needed press the appropriate key (probably Fx key, look at your screen when you boot it will be written somewhere in the first seconds of boot or read your motherboard manual) to open the boot menu to select Manjaro when you want (or go into the BIOS and select Manjaro to boot on if available this way).

If Manjaro is the first boot option in your BIOS then it will load GRUB, and as you have multiple OS and GRUB is configured to detect other OS, it WILL show the menu.

You cannot “Hide” GRUB and make it appears with a key press as you can with BIOS/UEFI, but you can achieve near functionality by customizing your GRUB settings:

• The default choice is always Windows
  • Make the timeout choice to a very short time, like 2s.