Grub missing and not booting after kernel update

Hi
I’m new to Linux and installed Manjaro last night on my computer already running windows 10. I installed updates and one kernel update. Afterwards when I try to reboot system grub didn’t show up and memtest screen showed. When I closed memtest the system rebooted and didn’t boot to any os. I then booted the system with manjaro live usb but couldn’t find anything to rescue grub since I have little linux command then I booted with the windows 10 rescue disk and run bootrec /fixmbr command to let windows 10 boot. But grub is gone. How can I reinstall grub? Thanks.

Hi @cmlc, and welcome!

I suspect this can be fixed with a chroot. The steps:

1. Download the latest ISO, burn it onto a USB, then boot into the Manjaro live ISO enviroment.
  2. Once succeessfukky booted into the live ISO environment, open a terminal and enter a chroot environment by running,
manjaro-chroot -a

If there is only the one Linux installation present on your computer, this should work and be all that’s neccesary. Theoretically.

1. If successful, you are now in a chroot environment. Be careful from here on, seeing as you are now logged in as root on your computer.

2. You should now be able reinstall grub. To do so run,

pacman -Syu grub

From here on, I’m not 100% sure, so I can exactly say if it’ll be neccessary or not. But just to be on the safe side, edit /etc/default/grub:

nano /etc/default/grub

And make sure GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER is specified and set to `false:

GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=false
  1. Save and exit.

2. Back on the command line, still in the chroot environment, run:

update-grub
  1. If successful, leave the chroot environment, hold your thumbs while dancing on one leg, recording it for youtube and providing us with the link, then reboot.

In theory, you should have your grub back and you can, and should feel free to heap on the praise. If not, well, then I’m innocent because, well, I aint done nottin’ sarge!

Edit: