Gimp, CorelAfterShots 3

I am an avid photographer and after doing away with that horror of Windows finally and being extremely pleased with Manjaro xfce and the image editors and viewers I had at my fingertips which suited my needs fully and worked a treat. BUT, after a Manjaro xcfe update all stopped opening up my images which are normal .jpg and .NEF images. Corel AfterShots 3 and Gimp comes back with:

GIMP Message

Opening ‘/run/media/smoky/364D-D880/GuruShots/5 June 2022/_NKN2645.JPG’ failed: JPEG image plug-in could not open image.

JPEG image Message

Not a JPEG file: starts with 0xff 0xff

.jpg and .jpeg are the same thing as far as imagery go, Joint Photographers Group or Joint Photographers Experts Group and .NEF is also a standard image ending.

As for the Not a JPEG file: starts with 0xff 0xff - none of the images have 0xff 0xff in their name. its very frustrating, I have over 1000 images now backing up to manipulate.

It doesn’t have anything to do with the filename, but rather with the identifying “magic bytes” at the start of the file.

Unlike Microsoft Windows, which identifies a file as being of a certain type based upon the filename suffix, UNIX systems look at the contents of the file to be able to identify the file type, and more specifically, they look at the first couple of bytes in the file, called “the magic bytes”.

Graphical file managers don’t always follow through on this, and as such, it may happen that they misidentify a file of being of a certain type because of the filename suffix.

You also mention Corel AfterShots, which is (to the best of my knowledge) not GNU/Linux software, and even if you did indeed find a version of it that runs on GNU/Linux, then this will not be UNIX-native software, but rather just a recompiled version of its Windows sibling. As such, it won’t be using the UNIX-native manner of identifying a file based upon its “magic bytes”.