DX11 issues starting Proton games

I have trouble starting some proton enables games in steam. Specifically Chess Ultra and Gorgogoa . Both are platinum according to ProtonDB and both have similar error messages, so maybe it is related.

Chess Ultra complains: “DX11 feature level 10.0 is required to run the engine.”

Gorgogoa complains: “Failed to initialize graphics. Make sure you have DirectX 11 installed, have up to date drivers for your graphics card and have not disabled 3D accelartion in display settings.”

I have a AMD Radeon R9 290 GPU, and installed the nonfree AMD drivers (as far as I know). I tried several versions of proton (experimental, 7.x, 6.x, 5.x). And I tried the option “PROTON_USE_WINED3D11=1” in the launch options in Steam. Nothing worked.

Anyone any idea what I am doing wrong or ideas of what I could try? I am new to Manjaro and have little experience, so it might be a lot of things I don’t get right.

That would be correct:

PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1

dx11 is always enabled and can be only disabled. However, it could be possible that vulkan doesn’t work. Without wined3d it uses always vulkan, otherwise opengl.

Does this report any errors?

vulkaninfo

Is amdvlk and lib32-amdvlk installed?

It seems I don’t have the native drivers installed anyway. Vulkaninfo (after installen vulkan-tools) says:

ERROR: [../mesa-22.0.3/src/amd/vulkan/radv_device.c:597] Code 0 : Device '/dev/dri/renderD128' is not using the AMDGPU kernel driver: Invalid argument (VK_ERROR_INCOMPATIBLE_DRIVER)
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : setup_loader_term_phys_devs:  Failed to detect any valid GPUs in the current config
ERROR at /build/vulkan-tools/src/Vulkan-Tools-1.3.207/vulkaninfo/vulkaninfo.h:230:vkEnumeratePhysicalDevices failed with ERROR_INITIALIZATION_FAILED

So, how do I install the amdgpu drivers? According to mhwd -li, I have now installed the free driver “video-linux” version 2018.05.04.

amdvlk and lib32-amdvlk are not installed.

edit: when I do