Could not boot due to brfs no-space condition. How should I keep using BTRFS?

Hi gurus,

I’m relatively new to Linux so please excuse the lack of my knowledge. I switched from Mint to Manjaro KDE about 2 months ago and I decided to use BTRFS because I liked the idea of selectable snapshots from GRUB. Unfortunately, I did not do enough of research and I hit a wall today as my BTRFS partition seemingly ran out of space and Manjaro could not boot up. I managed to recover it after 5 hours of struggling . It has been a good learning experience, but at a very bad time. You can read all about it bellow - maybe it will help someone in the future.

I would like to ask for your opinions on my bellow questions:

1. How can I prevent btrfs from running out of space in the future? I is enough just to use cron and periodically perform btrfs balance?
  2. Why is Manjaro not performing automatic btrfs balancing or other maintenance to automatically free up space? What’s the recommended approach for long term stability?
  3. Is is possible my filesystem was somehow corrupted due to the bug reported here ?
  4. Is there any way to convert btrfs into ext4 when Manjaro was installed fresh with btrfs?

My story:

• I have been experiencing high CPU utilization due to ‘kworker events_unbound’ . Based on this forum topic, this is known kernel bug. I suspect it was related to btrfs snapshot creation…
  • I upgraded from kernel 5.13.19-2 to 5.15.2-2 and I did not see this issue after reboot. I was happy, but not for long.
  • I tried to create a new snapshot in Timeshift , but I noticed that all past snapshots only showed a few bytes in size, which shocked me.
  • Few minutes later, most of my apps including plasma-shell crashed and I could not recover from it, so I rebooted.
  • System never booted up and I could only use shell after pressing (alt+f2).
  • I could not perform almost any operation due to ‘No Disk Space’ or ‘read-only’ errors.