Coming from Ubuntu MATE? Read this

:beginner: Intended to be read by complete novices. Not everybody has eleven years of experience on Ubuntu, so I plead to my fellow Linuxoids an extension of respect and understanding. Thank you.

Preface

Many people who are like me, having spent the better part of their life on Debian / Ubuntu, are tired of the Debian packaging format crippling their capability to use the latest software and wanting to check out an Arch system probably stumbled upon Manjaro MATE and wonder how it isn’t as user-friendly out-of-the-box as Ubuntu MATE. This guide to making Manjaro MATE just as friendly for first-time users is intended to help ease the transition away from Ubuntu, while preserving workflow habits which may have been picked up during their use of Ubuntu MATE or Linux Mint MATE.

Teething problems

Cutting my teeth on my first Arch Linux OS, I encountered a few issues that many people may find make their first-time experience on Manjaro MATE feel tenuous, if not become ruinous to their first impressions of the system. On Manjaro MATE 20.0.1, compared to Ubuntu MATE these are the initial problems I’ve had to seek a resolution for:

• Lack of automatic Bluetooth function by default
  • No Ubuntu MATE pre-loaded software
  • Lack of Compiz :wastebasket:
  • No default terminal feature
  • Lack of service command.
  • Difficulty seeking third-party software

:wastebasket: Compiz had been removed form Ubuntu MATE as of 19.10, but can still be installed — either current or legacy versions — for Debian systems should a user want it.

If any of these issues need resolution on your system, then read on. Else if you don’t care about any of this, then feel free to ignore this post.

Issues to resolve

Bluetooth “Not on” by default