Chromium-widewine - how to use/update?

Hi there,

I have installed Chromium Widevine using the script provided in sway edition. It is working great and I am happy with it. However, I want to learn if or how I can update the Chromium widevine. I am new to this docker thing and I was wondering if I can get insight into how to use a docker package. Also, if I can’t update Chromium Widevine, should I be concerned with security issues?

it should do updates on it’s own.
you can’t update separately as the drm has to match the chromium version.

Ok, great. So, I don’t have to worry about updating the widevine. It should update automatically.

Thank you for the explanation.

i could be wrong.
i just looked at the script, didn’t see anything for checking updates.

i don’t use that, i refuse drm, wait for someone else to chime in.

Ah ok. I do not want to use a software that is potentially vulnerable. How can I erase it then if it is not updating?

don’t jump the gun, wait for someone else.
snap & docker are suppose to be safe, i don’t think you need to worry about that as there self contained, like a virtual machine running on a host.

Yes, but only use Chromium-docker to watch drm content and not for regular use. It have older version of Chromium so yes there must be vulnerabilities. There is no other way to run drm content of ARM64(aarch64) architecture yet.

No. It never gets updated as that was the latest drm match I could find. I will see if ChromeOS was updated lately or not.

Vulnerability inside the browser can be exploited but if you can limit its use to only websites which are https and genuine ones like netflix, hulu amazon prime etc then you should not worry much.

Else you can remove it using this command.
sudo pacman -R chromium-docker

Good luck.

Thank you for the detailed explanation; I appreciate. I have other options to watch drm content and in this case I will likely remove the widevine package. I don’t want to use software that is vulnerable.