Cant set system wide proxy settings in xfce

I’m new to Linux and I was recommended manjaro by a friend. I’m struggling to set up proxy settings in Xfce?. i don’t know what a PAC script is

It’s a proxy auto configuration file/script
I just learned that by perusing google :wink:
(actually, I didn’t - I already knew)

Sorry I’m mostly new to Arch and Xfce so im not very good with setting things. I use a VPN setup through my phone’s internet to browse the internet.
in Ubuntu gnome and windows all I had to do was type it out into the system proxy setting

Xfce4 does not have a graphical tool to set a system wide proxy.

… the command line way then? :wink:

Could you point me in that direction or any particular commands

The above is all the direction I am able to provide
short of studying and educating myself on a specific topic I do not use or require myself.

Perhaps look at the script that you presumably have
and try to figure out what it does.

How to set a system wide proxy is well documented in the Arch wiki.

Sigh, thanks anyway

People on here don’t want to learn anything for themselves. They just want answers spoon-fed to them.

Fascinating response. It’s a friggin forum. a place where people look for solutions to problems, especially for newbies. If you don’t have anything useful or helpful to say then simply be quiet. It’s this precise behavior that keeps the image of Linux users being total snobs alive. I’m just gonna download the gnome flavor of manjaro and reinstall

And in xfce all you have to do is type it out in network connection settings.

2 Likes

A good decision.
Then your PAC file will work as it used to.
and you’ll not have to read up on how to do the job you know it does
how to set a proxy without having it.

… efficient - in a way :wink:

perhaps ask @zbe what he meant with what he said
if you cannot make heads or tails of what he said …
He will probably elaborate.

… some, even many, surely are
Might not be the case in this case.