Cannot install Manjaro to a persistent USB

Note: I am new to linux - this is my first time switching over from windows 10.

I would like to install Manjaro to a persistent USB, since I want to be able to switch between windows and Manjaro on my laptop, on the fly, until I can get a new computer on which I intend to install Manjaro to disk. I am, however, having issues.

After flashing the .iso file for Manjaro with KDE plasma (downloaded yesterday, from this website) to a USB (hereafter USB1) using rufus, I booted into USB1 from windows 10 (via shift+restart → us a device → EFI USB Device).

When the boot options menu popped up, I configured the live Manjaro session to boot with the nvidia proprietary drivers (as well as the GB keytable and with British English).

When booting completed, I inserted the USB onto which I want to install Manjaro to persistently (hereafter USB2). I connected to the internet, and launched the installer from the on-screen wizard. According to the Sikaris installer that popped up, I am attempting to install Manjaro 22.0.1.

After setting my language, timezone, and selecting the default keyboard layout, I selected USB2 from the drop-down selector for storage device. I selected the erase disk option, without the option of creating a swap partition. According to the wizard, I should have ended up with a 300 MiB FAT32 partition (I assume this is my boot partition), and a 499.7 GiB ext4 (root) partition on which Manjaro is installed (note that USB2 is 512 GB in size).

I then entered my name, named the computer, entered a password, set this same password to the “administrator account”, and started the install.

When unpacking the image files, the installer hangs (typically at 4 to 8% completion, or on file 9041/73916 in this case), and eventually closes without a confirmation that the installation has been completed.