Brave not working proper after today's Update

Hi
I have been using Brave browser since last 6 months and it was working properly. After today’s update
when writing anything on address bar the display gets messed up. And sometimes event the content does some weird glitches.

I am on Manjaro Gnome Stable (I have enabled brave:://flags for wayland)

Brave version :
Version 1.52.117 Chromium: 114.0.5735.90 (Official Build) (64-bit)

I use Brave on my other computer which is on Arch, using Hyprland and it works without any problems

Any ideas how to fix this ?

1 Like

Try running it in terminal like this:

brave -use-gl=egl

I also have this issue on manjaro KDE stable. Updated to 1.52.117-2, rebooted, and poof! all my tabs are screwed.

I temporarily fixed it by switching to brave-browser-beta and using grsync to copy my cache and settings:
~/.cache/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser/ to ~/.cache/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser-Beta/
~/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser/ to ~/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser-Beta/

I initially tried downgrading to an old version of brave-browser, but that didn’t help for some reason.

This worked for me, thanks!. Is there a way to configure brave to launch with this option when started through the GUI?

You can make use of

~/.config/brave-flags.conf

Thanks for the suggestion. Creating

~/.config/brave-flags.conf

and filling it in with

brave -use-gl=egl

appears to have fixed the normal mainline version of brave browser. I appreciate the help!

Glad to help.

Note:
The file takes flags just like chromium-flags.conf … there is no need for brave term in that file.

Note for amd users:
egl is often broken … likely you may prefer to use angle

Note for everyone:
Probably look into hardware acceleration
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Hardware_video_acceleration

…did nothing. I think restarting your PC and/or your browser is what actually solved your issue. :wink:

It should be:

--use-gl=egl