Activate NVIDIA GPU/download latest drivers

Hello,first of all i am new to linux manjaro.I used ubuntu-based linux before and it was quite alright.I do not now a lot about linux so consider that i am new.I switched to linux manjaro due to hardware compability.I always experienced graphical glitches in other debian-based distros.I am using linux manjaro now and everything just works FINE.I use my laptop to write code,to watch movies and videos and to play games.I want the highest possible performance when i play games so i want to switch to GPU graphics and have the latest or most fit graphics driver for my gpu.The think is,manjaro is a bit more complicated when it comes to configuration.I tried to change the drivers from the settings,the driver that was currently in use was something like ā€œnvidia-intel hypridā€ something and i wanted to install a driver that was named something like ā€œnvidia-driver-460-xxā€ But first i had to remove the previous driver and so i did.I removed the previous and downloaded the second one.After the reboot my laptop was not able to boot to manjaro at all so i had to reinstall it.

So my question is:
How do i activate NVIDIA GPU graphics and how do i download the latest drivers for nvidia gpu?

Thank you for your time!

Hello,

We have the MHWD, also as graphical tool and you can remove/install drivers from there, not otherwise.
For hybrid laptops, if have iGPU and dGPU it depends, some models do not allow direct use of dGPU as all is done via the iGPU.
Most likely you need hybrid-intel-nvidia-prime and video-modeset so it loads the iGPU and then you use
prime-run <application>
if you want it to run trough the dGPU.

This will explain most things in a more coherent way Configure Graphics Cards - Manjaro

1 Like

To add to what @bogdancovaciu said you are already on the latest driver. Manjaro is running a rolling release driver and nvidia-intel hybrid is the latest driver available which is 495 atm which is a lot newer than 460.