What is the best configuration to get cuda and cudnn with the current state of drivers?

I have installed video-nvidia and it has provided me with nvidia drivers version 455.45.01 which I have found using nvidia-smi.

Now looking at table 2 in the official Nvidia CUDA compatibility table here in https://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-toolkit-release-notes/index.html (It said I cant include links - maybe because I am new to the forum?? so I just dropped the text of the link), it seems that I need to get CUDA 11.1 which is not available in pacman or aur.

aur currently holds 11.0 as the highest version and pacman has already bumped up to 11.2 (Honestly, I dont understand why manjaro did this bump even - you are literally ending up with a incompatible driver configuration.)

I am just starting out with CUDA and I am setting this up for about a month now and this recent bump to 11.2 is just messing things up.

Can someone please tell me what is a configuration with the current available packages in manjaro - can I run a CUDA 11.0 alongwith the nvidia 455.45.01 drivers? (I do not understand the configuration table so, if my understanding that only the driver version ranges in between will work with a cuda version, please correct me)

I have been at this over a month and recent changes have complicated things way more - I request you all to help (Manjaro please help this poor soul)

1 Like

If drivers in repository are not suitable, uninstall them all and install the ones from the manufacturers website.

Will that cause any other dependency issue? I am using the graphics card for ML and graphics processing and obviously I dont want it to break once I start using using it owing to any dependency changes - I had this issue with my old OS and I switched to Manjaro thinking it would make things easier.

Though I can do that, I would be faced with an issue with cuda drivers because they depend on OS? And I dont see arch or manjaro there.

Which GPU are you using?