Virt-manager doesn't work with EFI VM

Important to note - it works when I don’t use UEFI, so that’s definitely the problem.

On the 5. step of creating a VM I check the “Customise Installation before install”.
Then in the “Overview” tab, under the Hypervisor details I change the firmware to UEFI.
I start the VM, I see the GRUB menu, press enter and - black screen, nothing happens. I waited a couple of minutes to see if it’s maybe loading or something - but nope, nothing happens.

I saw in an forum somewhere that you need to make sure that the chipset is Q35, and it is, so that’s not the cause either.

I’m a newbie, but I like exploring different things that Linux can do. I saw that you can install a linux on a USB from within a Virtual Machine running a live ISO.
So I’d like to learn that.

( I’ve tried Virtual Box, but it freezes the whole host OS when I turn on USB support. I’ve tried
the USB 1.1 fix, still halts the system, tried downgrading as well but that gave rise to other
problems so I gave up. Also I don’t recall seeing an UEFI option there anyway.
Gnome Boxes doesn’t have EFI option. VMware doesn’t either if I recall correctly, though I’ve
been trudging through forums and different VM software for a while, so maybe I’ve missed
something because of jumbles of information I’ve read and tried. )

Why do I need it?
Because the Linux I chose to install on the USB doesn’t display an option to create an EFI partition if it’s not booted through EFI or whatever the correct phrasing is.

I apologise if it’s something obvious, but there’s no “Newbie Corner” category so I have no choice but to post it here. And I’m posting cause googling didn’t yield results, or I haven’t been able to find it.
I’ve searched the Arch forum as well.

How do you know this?
Have you tried to write an USB and boot up your physical machine in UEFI mode,
just to verify that it actually works on physical hardware?