Video editor for linux

are there any good free and open source video editors for linux?

Hello, I never used any, but I often heard of Kdenlive.

Openshot is very nice, i used it myself and realy liked it. Saying so i am not a pro but it is more then enough to do some video tutorials or little clips. It is intuitive and easy to use.
I cannot include links in my message but you will find it easily, it is in arch repositories and it has a nice web page. Just type “openshot video editor” in your search engine. Cheers
edit: Now I can put a link :slight_smile:
Openshot home page
I really recommend it. Cheers

1 Like

I’ve used some of the basic functions of shotcut, seems pretty decent. Hasn’t done anything serious though, so I can’t say how well it holds up.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/List_of_applications/Multimedia#Video_editors

2 Likes

I have avidemux and vidcutter here. I am not a regular user of such software.

great one man it is cool

I prefer Shotcut, you really should give it a try… much easier to handle as Kdenlive.

1 Like

I recommend kdenlive, even better than proprietary video editors like Filmora and others, other open-source video editors are out of the comparison for this reason.

Edit: Here’s the link Kdenlive | Libre Video Editor

I have used KdenLive, one of the best.
Here have some tutorials (in portuguese). KdenLive Curso | LivreLabs

I mainly use browser-based video editors for example fastreel https://www.fastreel.com that have all the necessary functions for video editing. I make collages and video presentations for my work in the field of design, and this is enough for me.

I don’t get the reasoning behind this. Can you elaborate on this further please?