Video Editing/Processing Applications cause system crash (reboot)

Hi,

Firstly I will say thanks for any help and support in advance. Secondly, I want to preface with saying I am very new to Linux, and even more new to the Arch distribution having come from Kubuntu.

I am really liking the Manjaro build and have been using it for the last 4 months as my main workhorse and MacOS as my work computer. But still much too learn of course!

I am having difficulties with video editing and recording on my desktop with Manjaro. It seems to be crashing whenever I record screen capture then try to export or rather process it. Whenever the processing of a video (even a GIF longer than 30seconds!) starts after a random amount of time I get a system failure with no messages but just a hard reboot.

I am not sure if this is CPU or Graphics Card related. I understand there are some RX590 driver issues from about 2018 but they seem to be ironed out by now? Anyway here are my specs. If there are further details I can give please let me know.

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600X 6 Core
GPU: Gigabyte Radeon RX590 8GB Rev2
RAM: Silicon Power 32GB DDR4 3200Mhz
SSD: Silicon Power 1TB SSD
MB: MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
PSU: Thermaltake 700W Smart RGB+

Manjaro System Info

KDE: 5.20.4
Kernel: 5.8.18-1-MANJARO
64 Bit

Hello,

I would suggest changing the kernel. 5.8 is EOL = end of life. You can safely install 5.10 now and see how it performs.
Regarding the video editing and recording, what software are you using?

• OBS
  • Kdenlive
  • simplescreen recorder
  • Peek
  • OpenShot
  • other video editor ?

The reason why is important to know, is to trim down the information, to get to the bottom of the real issue.

I had a similar issue to this a few months ago, the PC was fine for normal everyday use but would hard reset with anything demanding.