Unity says not enough space but I have enough

I am new to Linux to be honest.

Welcome to the forum! :vulcan_salute:

A lot depends on how you installed Unity. If it is a Snap or a FlatPak, then it runs containerized, and then it’ll have limited resources and access.

Another factor is that — at least, as I understand it — the things you are downloading via Unity will be stored in your home directory, and if you assigned a separate partition to /home upon installation, then only the disk space allotted to /home will be available.

Furthermore, the available disk space in Plasma’s System Monitor is incorrect — there’s a bug in there which randomly becomes active and misrepresents the amount of available storage. As an example, I have a 1 TiB SSD and a 750 GiB HDD in this machine, but it tells me I have 3.5 TiB of available space.

The commands… :point_down:

du -sh /home

… and… :point_down:

df -Th

… should give you a good estimate of how much space you are really using.

3 Likes

What is that “Unity”?
Is it some kind of alternative installer?

It obviously can’t download stuff because where that stuff is to be stored is not enough space to do so.
… find out where this storage location is - some configuration, I’d guess

1 Like

Posting the output of inxi -Fazy would be a lot more helpful than the screenshot which provides very little useful information about your system.

How many partitions are there on your drive? The system monitor adds up all storage including external attached devices.

Also, do you have swap enabled? With only 4GB of RAM, your system is probably going to struggle a lot of the time.

2 Likes

As I understand it, it’s some sort of development environment for Android software. :man_shrugging:

Normally it would download to the user’s home directory, because it runs under the user’s UID.

2 Likes