Unable to launch pamac-manager

I am new to Linux and Manjaro. After the system update today, the Add or Remove Program (pacman-manager) cannot be launched. Whenever it is clicked, a small icon is jumping next to the cursor and an icon shows up in the “taskbar” but simply disappear without the pacman-manager windows shows up.

What could be the cause? Is there anything that I can do to correct the issue?

Thank you in advance

Hello and welcome,

Considering you reboot the system after the update, what are the errors if you start it from Terminal?
pamac-manager

what happens if you remove the pamac-flatpak-plugin and pamac-snap-plugin?

pamac remove pamac-flatpak-plugin pamac-snap-plugin

We had a similar issue in v10.0 we are currently testing. Seems something changed and affected also the stable release.

You can also disable the plugins like so:

sudo sed -i -e /EnableSnap/d /etc/pamac.conf
sudo sed -i -e /EnableFlatpak/d /etc/pamac.conf

2 Likes

Hi, I have removed the pamac manager and installed the one with -dev
sudo pacman -S pamac-gtk-dev pamac-cli-dev pamac-common-dev

Now there is chance that the pamac-manager launches. Sometimes yes and sometimes no. This is the message returned if I start it from the terminal if it doesn’t launch.

** Message: 07:34:01.569: flatpak_plugin.vala:345: last flathub appstream refresh is older than 6
** Message: 07:34:01.571: flatpak_plugin.vala:346: refreshing flathub appstream data

(process:4324): GLib-GIO-WARNING **: 07:34:02.391: /etc/xdg/kde-mimeapps.list contains a [Added Associations] group, but it is not permitted here. Only the non-desktop-specific mimeapps.list file may add or remove associations.

(pamac-manager:4324): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 07:34:02.406: g_application_run: assertion ‘acquired_context’ failed

I was having the same issue. removing flatpak and snap plugin solved the issue.
when I ran pamac-manager in terminal I got this message.