Trying to update NVIDIA drivers in TTY or liveUSB

Greetings,

Firstly, let me say that I’ve spent months on and off looking at dozens of posts here and other places before posting here. I am a 1-2 year intermediate newbie to Linux and Manjaro, but I’m not totally clueless. I can use the command line and terminal somewhat comfortably but interpreting and diagnosing issues from lines on the screen is not my strong suit. There’s no “official” ranking i guess, but if I see “you have to do this” and theres not a plain english description to go with i may struggle. dont be afraid to hold my hand or assume im totally unaware, i wont take it personally. Do not assume i know that i need to do ‘X’ in order to do ‘Y’ and tell me just to do ‘Y’.

I have a computer with and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super, and i am running Manjaro Gnome (i want to transfer to KDE or XFCE but thats another post) with 5.15.60-1 [just installed it with tty1] 5.13.19-2 and 4.14.290-1. I have two physical and separate hard drives, one with Manjaro, the other with Windows 10 exclusively for gaming, so it’s not really a dual boot… both are 1TB so confusing them might be an issue. I’d need to be careful with /sda/ stuff, and my lack of experience means im not confident in making sure which is which in the terminal. A GUI would be fine.

Some exposition: After updating majaro, the 5.13 stopped booting. it went to the black screen and unable to get to a command line, though 4.14 was still working after some fiddling on my end, which involved a timeshift useage. Somewhere along the lines i tried installing new drivers but it failed. I updated the system and it bricked the 4.14 as well. I have diagnosed this as an issue with the video drivers. I just downloaded the 5.15 kernel using TTY after editing ‘rw quiet’ to ‘rw 3’