Trouble with removing hard drive partition after dualboot

Hello everybody!

I’m new to Manjaro and Linux in general and I have a few questions relating to my hard drive after the installation. Originally I planned on dualbooting my system, so I chose the hard drive partition plan during the installation process. I’ve backed up all of the necessary data beforehand on an external hard drive, so I was safe.

Now, I want to uninstall the remaining Windows data and make my machine Linux-only and remove the driver partition. That being said, I wasn’t aware beforehand that Linux used GRUB rather than BIOS for its booting procedures.

How do I remove the hard drive partition, format it and then reinstall Manjaro?

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the forum! :wink:

The easiest way to do that would probably be with the help of Gparted.

There’s no need to do that, per se. As the matter of fact, I’ve only recently written a tutorial about what you can do with a spare partition. :wink:

:arrow_down:

1 Like

Thank you,

I’ve never used GParted before, since I’m a rookie when it comes to dualbooting and memory partition. Their download page lists the files as .iso. Does that mean I have to activate it by burning it onto a USB or a CD and then using it as if it’s a boot disk?

Moreover, after I clear the leftover windows data, will I be required to reinstall the hard drive through my Mojaro disk again or will I be able to just continue on the data I have now? Again, thanks for the response.

Oh, no, no. It’s available from the Manjaro repository. :wink: :arrow_down:

pamac install gparted

After that, it’ll be available from the application launcher menu right away. And you don’t need to delete the partition; you only need to reformat it with the ext4 filesystem. :wink:

You can simply continue working as you did before. You don’t even need to reboot, unless you’re going to split off /home or another directory onto the newly formatted partition, as per my tutorial above.